Discover legacy content from, preserved for your reference.

Inline Display | FontShop
Please update your browser. Why?

Inline Display

FontBook Editorial
Last edited June 27, 2014
Do not joke for the bathroom

Designed by Ashley Havinden, Ashley Inline is a monoweight all-capitals typeface with a hand-crafted look, suggesting European decorative wood-cut letters from the twenties and thirties. The term inline refers to the fine reversed-out line in the centre of the characters of the Ashley Inline font.

Careful tiny grass is dreaming

Crillee is a family of our styles that was originally produced by Letraset. In 1980, Dick Jones designed Crillee Italic. Jones also designed the family's second style, Crillee Extra Bold Italic, in 1981. Peter O'Donnell designed Crillee Bold Italic in 1986. The fourth style, Crillee Italic Inline Shadow, was completed by Vince Whitlock. At the time of Crillee's development, Jones, O'Donnell,... Read More

He who laughs last thinks slowest

Flamenco is the work of British artist Tony Geddes. Its versatile display style has an inline contour decoration and a controlled yet casual appearance. Flamenco will guarantee visual excitement across a vast range of advertising applications.

No occupation while stabilizing

Follies is the work of designer Alan Meeks. Its striking 1940s style is combined with an inline look. Follies is excellent for applications where a strong graphic headline is required.

Slip away the hot chicken slice

Frankfurter font is the work of designer Alan Meeks. The most distinctive feature of this informal, sans serif typeface is its curved or rounded terminals. The letters look best when set closely together. Frankfurter Medium is well-suited to a variety of display applications and comes in four weights, regular, medium, highlight and inline.

Slip away the hot chicken slice

Industria™ was designed by British graphic design guru Neville Brody, originally for a magazine called The Face, and released as a font by Linotype GmbH in 1989. Industria is a condensed sans serif with abbreviated, essential forms. It has a systemized mechanical structure of straight strokes with rounded outer corners and rectangular counter spaces. The solid version is strong, cool, and... Read More

Please do not get over it

FF Kath Condensed is an early, historically-inspired inline skyline serif for headlines, though it’s quite at home in upscale packaging work.

Even fools are right sometimes

Drawn in by the logo printed on the side of a cup from the erstwhile GDR dining car company Mitropa, Johannes Erler started work on FF Pullman in 1995. The original, somewhat rigid, basic typeface was soon joined by an elegant inline version. An overlay style was added so that the inner and outer forms could be set in different colors. Upon searching, Erler found a number of train symbols in... Read More

Boredom is rage spread thin

Shaman is the work of British designer Phill Grimshaw and you can almost hear the drums beating when you see it. It is a bold display typeface that features a unique, fractured effect and evokes a somehow primitive quality. Shaman is an all caps alphabet which comes complete with spot illustrations, graphic devices and a border system.

Tether even a roasted chicken

ITC Stenberg was designed by Tagir Safeyev based on the forms characteristic of the Constructivism in the early days of the USSR. The brothers Vladimir and Georgii Stenberg were two of the creative artists of this movement who were turning older forms to revolutionary use. ITC Stenberg has a caps and small caps alphabet and is available in a bold and an inline version.

Think more, design less

On March 20, 1988, Mike Tyson defended his world championship title against challenger Tony Tubbs. The event’s poster was designed by Neville Brody which named the fight’s location: the Tokyo Dome. Full alphabets based on the letters Brody drew by hand for the poster were eventually completed and digitized into ten fonts. These form the FF Dome, FF Tokyo, and FF World series. All typefaces have... Read More

Rudolf Koch and Alan Meeks
ITC 1914
Steve Matteson and Ashley Havinden
Monotype 2006
Robert Harling
Dick Jones, Peter O'Donnell and Vince Whitlock
ITC 1980
Image Club
Image Club
Tony Geddes
ITC 1979
Alan Meeks
ITC 1991
Bob Newman, Esselte Letraset, Alan Meeks and Nick Belshaw
ITC 1970
Unknown and Image Club
Image Club
Neville Brody
Linotype 1989
Ralf Borowiak
Elsner+Flake 1993
Paul H. Neville
FontFont 1992
Johannes Erler
FontFont 1997
Phill Grimshaw
ITC 1994
Gerd Sebastian Jakob and Joerg Ewald Meißner
Elsner+Flake 2000
Tagir Safayev
ITC 1998
Neville Brody
FontFont 1993
Julien Janiszewski
Bitstream 2002